historical overviewwinners onlyjerseys winnerssummary statisticswinners of stageswinners of stages on a map
1939 | Number of finish towns: 28
 back to details of 1939

stage 1:Paris -Caen215.0 km  FRA  Amédée FOURNIER6:21:57 | 33.8 km/h
stage 2a:Caen -Vire63.5 km  BEL  Romain MAES1:40:13 | 38.0 km/h
stage 2b:Vire -Rennes119.5 km  FRA  Éloi TASSIN3:10:45 | 37.6 km/h
stage 3:Rennes -Brest244.0 km  FRA  Pierre-Marie CLOAREC6:52:30 | 35.5 km/h
stage 4:Brest -Lorient174.0 km  FRA  Raymond LOUVIOT4:38:56 | 37.4 km/h
stage 5:Lorient -Nantes207.0 km  FRA  Amédée FOURNIER5:40:13 | 36.5 km/h
stage 6a:Nantes -La Rochelle144.0 km  BEL  Lucien STORME4:23:05 | 32.8 km/h
stage 6b:La Rochelle -Royan107.0 km  FRA  Edmond PAGÈS3:00:23 | 35.6 km/h
stage 7:Royan -Bordeaux198.0 km  FRA  Raymond PASSAT5:47:16 | 34.2 km/h
stage 8a:Bordeaux -Salies de Bearn210.5 km  BEL  Marcel KINT6:35:43 | 31.9 km/h
stage 8b:Salies de Bearn -Pau68.5 km  SUI  Karl LITSCHI1:52:05 | 36.7 km/h
stage 9:Pau -Toulouse311.0 km  BEL  Edward VISSERS10:23:27 | 29.9 km/h
stage 10a:Toulouse -Narbonne148.5 km  FRA  Pierre JAMINET4:07:35 | 36.0 km/h
stage 10b:Narbonne -Beziers27.0 km  FRA  Maurice ARCHAMBAUD0:37:30 | 43.2 km/h
stage 10c:Beziers -Montpellier70.5 km  FRA  Maurice ARCHAMBAUD1:50:09 | 38.4 km/h
stage 11:Montpellier -Marseille212.0 km  FRA  Fabien GALATEAU6:30:55 | 32.5 km/h
stage 12a:Marseille -St. Raphaël157.0 km  LUX  François NEUENS5:11:15 | 30.3 km/h
stage 12b:St. Raphaël -Monaco121.5 km  FRA  Maurice ARCHAMBAUD3:34:20 | 34.0 km/h
stage 13:Monaco -Monaco101.0 km  FRA  Pierre GALLIEN3:17:56 | 30.8 km/h
stage 14:Monaco -Digne175.0 km  FRA  Pierre-Marie CLOAREC6:15:58 | 27.9 km/h
stage 15:Digne -Briançon219.0 km  BEL  Sylvère MAES8:24:20 | 26.1 km/h
stage 16a:Briançon -Bonneval-sur-Arc126.0 km  FRA  Pierre JAMINET5:04:39 | 24.8 km/h
stage 16b:Bonneval-sur-Arc -Bourg-Saint-Maurice64.5 km  BEL  Sylvère MAES1:55:41 | 33.5 km/h
stage 16c:Bourg-Saint-Maurice -Annecy103.5 km  NED  Antoon VAN SCHENDEL3:44:17 | 27.7 km/h
stage 17a:Annecy -Dôle226.0 km  LUX  François NEUENS7:17:58 | 31.0 km/h
stage 17b:Dôle -Dijon59.0 km  FRA  Maurice ARCHAMBAUD1:24:28 | 41.9 km/h
stage 18a:Dijon -Troyes151.0 km  FRA  René LE GREVES5:02:10 | 30.0 km/h
stage 18b:Troyes -Paris201.0 km  BEL  Marcel KINT6:30:49 | 30.9 km/h

Winners of stages in 1939 by nations:

 nation  No.wins share (%)
 FRA  17 
 BEL  7 
 LUX  2 
 SUI  1 
 NED  1 

Winners of stages in 1939 by cyclists:

 name  No.wins share (%)
 Maurice ARCHAMBAUD  4 
 Amédée FOURNIER  2 
 Pierre-Marie CLOAREC  2 
 Marcel KINT  2 
 Pierre JAMINET  2 
 Sylvère MAES  2 
 François NEUENS  2 
 Éloi TASSIN  1 
 Raymond PASSAT  1 
 Antoon VAN SCHENDEL  1 
 Lucien STORME  1 
 Edward VISSERS  1 
 Pierre GALLIEN  1 
 Fabien GALATEAU  1 
 René LE GREVES  1 
 Romain MAES  1 
 Edmond PAGÈS  1 
 Raymond LOUVIOT  1 
 Karl LITSCHI  1 

Here we would like to express our respect and thanks to all participants and organizers of this prestige event, as well as to highlight the possibilities of geography and bring a new look at this phenomenon


 Main page
 Historical overview
 Winners only
 Jerseys winners
 Summary statistics
 Winners of stages
 Winners of stages on a map
 Our book about TdF


 General statistics
 Ascents statistics
 Stages statistics
 Custom winners statistics
 Chord diagrams - visualization

 Search places of the Tour
 Search winner of the stage
 Search ascents of the Tour
 Search winner of ascent


 Display list of all places
 Find nearest stage place
 Map of TdF places
 Thematic map of start places
 Thematic map of finish places
 Map of general classification of places


 Display list of all ascents
 Display map of all ascents
 Thematic map of all ascents
 Find nearest ascent
 The Alps ascents
 The Pyrenees ascents
 The Jura ascents
 The Massiv Ccentral ascents
 The Cevennes ascents
 The Vosges ascents
 The Black Forest ascents