Classic cycle races
The classic cycle races are one-day professional cycling road races in the international calendar. Most of the events, all run in western Europe, have been fixtures on the professional calendar for decades and the oldest ones date back to the 19th century. They are normally held at roughly the same time each year. In the last few years, the five most revered races are sometimes described as the 'Monuments'.
name of cyclist: won at least: times

Winners of classics in 2016

Milan-San Remo  Arnaud DémareFRA
Tour of Flanders  Peter SaganSVK
Paris-Roubaix  Mathew HaymanAUS
Liege-Bastogne-Liege  Wouter PoelsNED
Giro di Lombardia  Esteban ChavesCOL
Gent-Wevelgem  Peter SaganSVK
E3 Harelbeke  Michal KwiatkowskiPOL
Amstel Gold Race  Enrico Gasparotto ITA
La Fleche Walonne  Alejandro Valverde ESP
Tre Valli Varesine  Sonny ColbrelliITA
Coppa Ugo Agostoni  Sonny Colbrelli ITA
Coppa Bernochi  Giacomo NizzoloITA
Clássica de San Sebastián  Bauke MollemaNED
Paris-Tours  Fernando GaviriaCOL
Milano-Torino  Miguel Ángel LópezCOL
Giro del Piemonte  Giacomo NizzoloITA

This page was elaborated by the authors of, based on various web pages