Classic cycle races
The classic cycle races are one-day professional cycling road races in the international calendar. Most of the events, all run in western Europe, have been fixtures on the professional calendar for decades and the oldest ones date back to the 19th century. They are normally held at roughly the same time each year. In the last few years, the five most revered races are sometimes described as the 'Monuments'.
name of cyclist: won at least: times

Winners of classics in 2009

Milan-San Remo  Mark CavendishGBR
Tour of Flanders  Stijn Devolder BEL
Paris-Roubaix  Tom Boonen BEL
Liege-Bastogne-Liege  Andy Schleck LUX
Giro di Lombardia  Philippe GilbertBEL
Gent-Wevelgem  Edvald Boasson HagenNOR
E3 Harelbeke  Filippo Pozzato ITA
Amstel Gold Race  Sergei Ivanov RUS
La Fleche Walonne  Davide Rebellin ITA
Tre Valli Varesine  Mauro Santambrogio ITA
Coppa Ugo Agostoni  Giovanni Visconti ITA
Coppa Bernochi  Luca Paolini ITA
Clássica de San Sebastián  Carlos Barredo ESP
Paris-Tours  Philippe GilbertBEL
Giro del Piemonte  Philippe GilbertBEL

This page was elaborated by the authors of, based on various web pages