Classic cycle races
The classic cycle races are one-day professional cycling road races in the international calendar. Most of the events, all run in western Europe, have been fixtures on the professional calendar for decades and the oldest ones date back to the 19th century. They are normally held at roughly the same time each year. In the last few years, the five most revered races are sometimes described as the 'Monuments'.
name of cyclist: won at least: times

Winners of classics in 2008

Milan-San Remo  Fabian Cancellara SUI
Tour of Flanders  Stijn Devolder BEL
Paris-Roubaix  Tom Boonen BEL
Liege-Bastogne-Liege  Alejandro Valverde ESP
Giro di Lombardia  Damiano Cunego ITA
Gent-Wevelgem  Óscar Freire ESP
E3 Harelbeke  Kurt Asle Arvesen NOR
Amstel Gold Race  Damiano Cunego ITA
La Fleche Walonne  Kim Kirchen LUX
Tre Valli Varesine  Francesco Ginanni ITA
Coppa Ugo Agostoni  Linus Gerdemann GER
Coppa Bernochi  Steve Cummings GBR
Clássica de San Sebastián  Alejandro Valverde ESP
Paris-Tours  Philippe GilbertBEL
Giro del Piemonte  Daniele Bennati ITA

This page was elaborated by the authors of, based on various web pages