Classic cycle races
The classic cycle races are one-day professional cycling road races in the international calendar. Most of the events, all run in western Europe, have been fixtures on the professional calendar for decades and the oldest ones date back to the 19th century. They are normally held at roughly the same time each year. In the last few years, the five most revered races are sometimes described as the 'Monuments'.
name of cyclist: won at least: times

Winners of classics in 2006

Milan-San Remo  Filippo Pozzato ITA
Tour of Flanders  Tom Boonen BEL
Paris-Roubaix  Fabian Cancellara SUI
Liege-Bastogne-Liege  Alejandro Valverde ESP
Giro di Lombardia  Paolo Bettini ITA
Gent-Wevelgem  Thor Hushovd NOR
E3 Harelbeke  Tom Boonen BEL
Amstel Gold Race  Fränk Schleck LUX
La Fleche Walonne  Alejandro Valverde ESP
Tre Valli Varesine  Stefano Garzelli ITA
Coppa Ugo Agostoni  Alessandro Bertolini ITA
Coppa Bernochi  Danilo Napolitano ITA
Clássica de San Sebastián  Xavier Florencio ESP
Paris-Tours  Frédéric Guesdon FRA
Milano-Torino  Igor Astarloa ESP
Giro del Piemonte  Daniele Bennati ITA

This page was elaborated by the authors of, based on various web pages