Classic cycle races
The classic cycle races are one-day professional cycling road races in the international calendar. Most of the events, all run in western Europe, have been fixtures on the professional calendar for decades and the oldest ones date back to the 19th century. They are normally held at roughly the same time each year. In the last few years, the five most revered races are sometimes described as the 'Monuments'.
name of cyclist: won at least: times

Winners of classics in 2005

Milan-San Remo  Alessandro Petacchi ITA
Tour of Flanders  Tom Boonen BEL
Paris-Roubaix  Tom Boonen BEL
Liege-Bastogne-Liege  Alexandre Vinokourov KAZ
Giro di Lombardia  Paolo Bettini ITA
Gent-Wevelgem  Nico Mattan BEL
E3 Harelbeke  Tom Boonen BEL
Amstel Gold Race  Danilo Di Luca ITA
La Fleche Walonne  Danilo Di Luca ITA
Tre Valli Varesine  Stefano Garzelli ITA
Coppa Ugo Agostoni  Paolo Valoti ITA
Coppa Bernochi  Danilo Napolitano ITA
Clássica de San Sebastián  Constantino Zaballa ESP
Paris-Tours  Erik Zabel GER
Milano-Torino  Fabio Sacchi ITA
Giro del Piemonte  Murilo Fischer BRA

This page was elaborated by the authors of, based on various web pages