Classic cycle races
The classic cycle races are one-day professional cycling road races in the international calendar. Most of the events, all run in western Europe, have been fixtures on the professional calendar for decades and the oldest ones date back to the 19th century. They are normally held at roughly the same time each year. In the last few years, the five most revered races are sometimes described as the 'Monuments'.
name of cyclist: won at least: times

Winners of classics in 2004

Milan-San Remo  Óscar Freire ESP
Tour of Flanders  Steffen Wesemann GER
Paris-Roubaix  Magnus Bäckstedt SWE
Liege-Bastogne-Liege  Davide Rebellin ITA
Giro di Lombardia  Damiano Cunego ITA
Gent-Wevelgem  Tom Boonen BEL
E3 Harelbeke  Tom Boonen BEL
Amstel Gold Race  Davide Rebellin ITA
La Fleche Walonne  Davide Rebellin ITA
Tre Valli Varesine  Fabian Wegmann GER
Coppa Ugo Agostoni  Leonardo Bertagnolli ITA
Coppa Bernochi  Angelo Furlan ITA
Clássica de San Sebastián  Miguel Ángel Martín Perdiguero ESP
Paris-Tours  Erik Dekker NED
Milano-Torino  Marcos Serrano ESP
Giro del Piemonte  Allan Davis AUS

This page was elaborated by the authors of, based on various web pages