Classic cycle races
The classic cycle races are one-day professional cycling road races in the international calendar. Most of the events, all run in western Europe, have been fixtures on the professional calendar for decades and the oldest ones date back to the 19th century. They are normally held at roughly the same time each year. In the last few years, the five most revered races are sometimes described as the 'Monuments'.
name of cyclist: won at least: times

Winners of classics in 2003

Milan-San Remo  Paolo Bettini ITA
Tour of Flanders  Peter van Petegem BEL
Paris-Roubaix  Peter Van Petegem BEL
Liege-Bastogne-Liege  Tyler Hamilton USA
Giro di Lombardia  Michele Bartoli ITA
Gent-Wevelgem  Andreas Klier GER
E3 Harelbeke  Steven de Jongh NED
Amstel Gold Race  Alexandre Vinokourov KAZ
La Fleche Walonne  Igor Astarloa ESP
Tre Valli Varesine  Danilo Di Luca ITA
Coppa Ugo Agostoni  Francesco Casagrande ITA
Coppa Bernochi  Sergio Barbero ITA
Clássica de San Sebastián  Paolo Bettini ITA
Paris-Tours  Erik Zabel GER
Milano-Torino  Mirko Celestino ITA
Giro del Piemonte  Alessandro Bertolini ITA

This page was elaborated by the authors of, based on various web pages