Classic cycle races
The classic cycle races are one-day professional cycling road races in the international calendar. Most of the events, all run in western Europe, have been fixtures on the professional calendar for decades and the oldest ones date back to the 19th century. They are normally held at roughly the same time each year. In the last few years, the five most revered races are sometimes described as the 'Monuments'.
name of cyclist: won at least: times

Winners of classics in 2002

Milan-San Remo  Mario Cipollini ITA
Tour of Flanders  Andrea Tafi ITA
Paris-Roubaix  Johan Museeuw BEL
Liege-Bastogne-Liege  Paolo Bettini ITA
Giro di Lombardia  Michele Bartoli ITA
Gent-Wevelgem  Mario Cipollini ITA
E3 Harelbeke  Dario Pieri ITA
Amstel Gold Race  Michele Bartoli ITA
La Fleche Walonne  Mario Aerts BEL
Tre Valli Varesine  Eddy Ratti ITA
Coppa Ugo Agostoni  Laurent Jalabert FRA
Coppa Bernochi  Daniele Nardello ITA
Clássica de San Sebastián  Laurent Jalabert FRA
Paris-Tours  Jakob Piil DAN
Milano-Torino  Michele Bartoli ITA
Giro del Piemonte  Luca Paolini ITA

This page was elaborated by the authors of, based on various web pages