Classic cycle races
The classic cycle races are one-day professional cycling road races in the international calendar. Most of the events, all run in western Europe, have been fixtures on the professional calendar for decades and the oldest ones date back to the 19th century. They are normally held at roughly the same time each year. In the last few years, the five most revered races are sometimes described as the 'Monuments'.
name of cyclist: won at least: times

Winners of classics in 2001

Milan-San Remo  Erik Zabel GER
Tour of Flanders  Gianluca Bortolami ITA
Paris-Roubaix  Servais Knaven NED
Liege-Bastogne-Liege  Oscar Camenzind SUI
Giro di Lombardia  Danilo Di Luca ITA
Gent-Wevelgem  George Hincapie USA
E3 Harelbeke  Andrei Tchmil BEL
Amstel Gold Race  Erik Dekker NED
La Fleche Walonne  Rik Verbrugghe BEL
Tre Valli Varesine  Mirko Celestino ITA
Coppa Ugo Agostoni  Francesco Casagrande ITA
Coppa Bernochi  Paolo Valoti ITA
Clássica de San Sebastián  Laurent Jalabert FRA
Paris-Tours  Richard Virenque FRA
Milano-Torino  Mirko Celestino ITA
Giro del Piemonte  Nico Mattan BEL

This page was elaborated by the authors of, based on various web pages