Classic cycle races
The classic cycle races are one-day professional cycling road races in the international calendar. Most of the events, all run in western Europe, have been fixtures on the professional calendar for decades and the oldest ones date back to the 19th century. They are normally held at roughly the same time each year. In the last few years, the five most revered races are sometimes described as the 'Monuments'.
name of cyclist: won at least: times

Winners of classics in 2000

Milan-San Remo  Erik Zabel GER
Tour of Flanders  Andrei Tchmil BEL
Paris-Roubaix  Johan Museeuw BEL
Liege-Bastogne-Liege  Paolo Bettini ITA
Giro di Lombardia  Raimondas Rumšas LTU
Gent-Wevelgem  Geert Van Bondt BEL
E3 Harelbeke  Sergei Ivanov RUS
Amstel Gold Race  Erik Zabel GER
La Fleche Walonne  Francesco Casagrande ITA
Tre Valli Varesine  Massimo Donati ITA
Coppa Ugo Agostoni  Jan Ullrich GER
Coppa Bernochi  Romāns Vainšteins LAT
Clássica de San Sebastián  Erik Dekker NED
Paris-Tours  Andrea Tafi ITA
Giro del Piemonte  

This page was elaborated by the authors of, based on various web pages