Classic cycle races
The classic cycle races are one-day professional cycling road races in the international calendar. Most of the events, all run in western Europe, have been fixtures on the professional calendar for decades and the oldest ones date back to the 19th century. They are normally held at roughly the same time each year. In the last few years, the five most revered races are sometimes described as the 'Monuments'.
name of cyclist: won at least: times

Winners of classics in 1999

Milan-San Remo  Andrei Tchmil BEL
Tour of Flanders  Peter van Petegem BEL
Paris-Roubaix  Andrea Tafi ITA
Liege-Bastogne-Liege  Frank Vandenbroucke BEL
Giro di Lombardia  Mirko Celestino ITA
Gent-Wevelgem  Tom Steels BEL
E3 Harelbeke  Peter Van Petegem BEL
Amstel Gold Race  Michael Boogerd NED
La Fleche Walonne  Michele Bartoli ITA
Tre Valli Varesine  Sergio Barbero ITA
Coppa Ugo Agostoni  Massimo Donati ITA
Coppa Bernochi  Giancarlo Raimondi ITA
Clássica de San Sebastián  Francesco Casagrande ITA
Paris-Tours  Marc Wauters BEL
Milano-Torino  Markus Zberg SUI
Giro del Piemonte  Andrea Tafi ITA

This page was elaborated by the authors of, based on various web pages