Classic cycle races
The classic cycle races are one-day professional cycling road races in the international calendar. Most of the events, all run in western Europe, have been fixtures on the professional calendar for decades and the oldest ones date back to the 19th century. They are normally held at roughly the same time each year. In the last few years, the five most revered races are sometimes described as the 'Monuments'.
name of cyclist: won at least: times

Winners of classics in 1997

Milan-San Remo  Erik Zabel GER
Tour of Flanders  Rolf Sørensen DAN
Paris-Roubaix  Frédéric Guesdon FRA
Liege-Bastogne-Liege  Michele Bartoli ITA
Giro di Lombardia  Laurent Jalabert FRA
Gent-Wevelgem  Philippe Gaumont FRA
E3 Harelbeke  Hendrik Van Dijck BEL
Amstel Gold Race  Bjarne Riis DAN
La Fleche Walonne  Laurent Jalabert FRA
Tre Valli Varesine  Roberto Caruso ITA
Coppa Ugo Agostoni  Massimo Apollonio ITA
Coppa Bernochi  Gianluca Bortolami ITA
Clássica de San Sebastián  Davide Rebellin ITA
Paris-Tours  Andrei Tchmil UKR
Milano-Torino  Laurent Jalabert FRA
Giro del Piemonte  Gianluca Bortolami ITA

This page was elaborated by the authors of, based on various web pages