Classic cycle races
The classic cycle races are one-day professional cycling road races in the international calendar. Most of the events, all run in western Europe, have been fixtures on the professional calendar for decades and the oldest ones date back to the 19th century. They are normally held at roughly the same time each year. In the last few years, the five most revered races are sometimes described as the 'Monuments'.
name of cyclist: won at least: times

Winners of classics in 1996

Milan-San Remo  Gabriele Colombo ITA
Tour of Flanders  Michele Bartoli ITA
Paris-Roubaix  Johan Museeuw BEL
Liege-Bastogne-Liege  Pascal Richard SUI
Giro di Lombardia  Andrea Tafi ITA
Gent-Wevelgem  Tom Steels BEL
E3 Harelbeke  Carlo Bomans BEL
Amstel Gold Race  Stefano Zanini ITA
La Fleche Walonne  Lance Armstrong USA
Tre Valli Varesine  Fabrizio Guidi ITA
Coppa Ugo Agostoni  Filippo Casagrande ITA
Coppa Bernochi  Fabio Baldato ITA
Clássica de San Sebastián  Udo Bölts GER
Paris-Tours  Nicola Minali ITA
Milano-Torino  Daniele Nardello ITA
Giro del Piemonte  Richard Virenque FRA

This page was elaborated by the authors of, based on various web pages