Classic cycle races
The classic cycle races are one-day professional cycling road races in the international calendar. Most of the events, all run in western Europe, have been fixtures on the professional calendar for decades and the oldest ones date back to the 19th century. They are normally held at roughly the same time each year. In the last few years, the five most revered races are sometimes described as the 'Monuments'.
name of cyclist: won at least: times

Winners of classics in 1995

Milan-San Remo  Laurent Jalabert FRA
Tour of Flanders  Johan Museeuw BEL
Paris-Roubaix  Franco Ballerini ITA
Liege-Bastogne-Liege  Mauro Gianetti SUI
Giro di Lombardia  Gianni Faresin ITA
Gent-Wevelgem  Lars Michaelsen DAN
E3 Harelbeke  Bart Leysen BEL
Amstel Gold Race  Mauro Gianetti SUI
La Fleche Walonne  Laurent Jalabert FRA
Tre Valli Varesine  Roberto Caruso ITA
Coppa Ugo Agostoni  Gianni Bugno ITA
Coppa Bernochi  Stefano Zanini ITA
Clássica de San Sebastián  Lance Armstrong USA
Paris-Tours  Nicola Minali ITA
Milano-Torino  Stefano Zanini ITA
Giro del Piemonte  Claudio Chiappucci ITA

This page was elaborated by the authors of, based on various web pages