Classic cycle races
The classic cycle races are one-day professional cycling road races in the international calendar. Most of the events, all run in western Europe, have been fixtures on the professional calendar for decades and the oldest ones date back to the 19th century. They are normally held at roughly the same time each year. In the last few years, the five most revered races are sometimes described as the 'Monuments'.
name of cyclist: won at least: times

Winners of classics in 1993

Milan-San Remo  Maurizio Fondriest ITA
Tour of Flanders  Johan Museeuw BEL
Paris-Roubaix  Gilbert Duclos-Lassalle FRA
Liege-Bastogne-Liege  Rolf Sørensen DAN
Giro di Lombardia  Pascal Richard SUI
Gent-Wevelgem  Mario Cipollini ITA
E3 Harelbeke  Mario Cipollini ITA
Amstel Gold Race  Rolf Järmann SUI
La Fleche Walonne  Maurizio Fondriest ITA
Tre Valli Varesine  Massimo Ghirotto ITA
Coppa Ugo Agostoni  Davide Cassani ITA
Coppa Bernochi  Rolf Sørensen DAN
Clássica de San Sebastián  Claudio Chiappucci ITA
Paris-Tours  Johan Museeuw BEL
Milano-Torino  Rolf Sørensen DAN
Giro del Piemonte  Beat Zberg SUI

This page was elaborated by the authors of, based on various web pages