Classic cycle races
The classic cycle races are one-day professional cycling road races in the international calendar. Most of the events, all run in western Europe, have been fixtures on the professional calendar for decades and the oldest ones date back to the 19th century. They are normally held at roughly the same time each year. In the last few years, the five most revered races are sometimes described as the 'Monuments'.
name of cyclist: won at least: times

Winners of classics in 1992

Milan-San Remo  Sean Kelly IRL
Tour of Flanders  Jacky Durand FRA
Paris-Roubaix  Gilbert Duclos-Lassalle FRA
Liege-Bastogne-Liege  Dirk De Wolf BEL
Giro di Lombardia  Tony Rominger SUI
Gent-Wevelgem  Mario Cipollini ITA
E3 Harelbeke  Johan Museeuw BEL
Amstel Gold Race  Olaf Ludwig GER
La Fleche Walonne  Giorgio Furlan ITA
Tre Valli Varesine  Massimo Ghirotto ITA
Coppa Ugo Agostoni  Stefano Colagè ITA
Coppa Bernochi  Charly Mottet FRA
Clássica de San Sebastián  Raúl Alcalá MEX
Paris-Tours  Hendrik Redant BEL
Milano-Torino  Gianni Bugno ITA
Giro del Piemonte  Erik Breukink NED

This page was elaborated by the authors of, based on various web pages