Classic cycle races
The classic cycle races are one-day professional cycling road races in the international calendar. Most of the events, all run in western Europe, have been fixtures on the professional calendar for decades and the oldest ones date back to the 19th century. They are normally held at roughly the same time each year. In the last few years, the five most revered races are sometimes described as the 'Monuments'.
name of cyclist: won at least: times

Winners of classics in 1991

Milan-San Remo  Claudio Chiappucci ITA
Tour of Flanders  Edwig van Hooydonck BEL
Paris-Roubaix  Marc Madiot FRA
Liege-Bastogne-Liege  Moreno Argentin ITA
Giro di Lombardia  Sean Kelly IRL
Gent-Wevelgem  Djamolidine Abdoujaparov UZB
E3 Harelbeke  Olaf Ludwig GER
Amstel Gold Race  Frans Maassen NED
La Fleche Walonne  Moreno Argentin ITA
Tre Valli Varesine  Guido Bontempi ITA
Coppa Ugo Agostoni  Davide Cassani ITA
Coppa Bernochi  Giorgio Furlan ITA
Clássica de San Sebastián  Gianni Bugno ITA
Paris-Tours  Johan Capiot BEL
Milano-Torino  Davide Cassani ITA
Giro del Piemonte  Djamolidine Abdoujaparov UZB

This page was elaborated by the authors of, based on various web pages