Classic cycle races
The classic cycle races are one-day professional cycling road races in the international calendar. Most of the events, all run in western Europe, have been fixtures on the professional calendar for decades and the oldest ones date back to the 19th century. They are normally held at roughly the same time each year. In the last few years, the five most revered races are sometimes described as the 'Monuments'.
name of cyclist: won at least: times

Winners of classics in 1990

Milan-San Remo  Gianni Bugno ITA
Tour of Flanders  Moreno Argentin ITA
Paris-Roubaix  Eddy Planckaert BEL
Liege-Bastogne-Liege  Eric Van Lancker BEL
Giro di Lombardia  Gilles Delion FRA
Gent-Wevelgem  Herman Frison BEL
E3 Harelbeke  Soren Lilholt DAN
Amstel Gold Race  Adri van der Poel NED
La Fleche Walonne  Moreno Argentin ITA
Tre Valli Varesine  Pascal Richard SUI
Coppa Ugo Agostoni  Maurizio Fondriest ITA
Coppa Bernochi  Davide Cassani ITA
Clássica de San Sebastián  Miguel Indurain ESP
Paris-Tours  Rolf Sørensen DAN
Milano-Torino  Mauro Gianetti ITA
Giro del Piemonte  Franco Ballerini ITA

This page was elaborated by the authors of, based on various web pages