Classic cycle races
The classic cycle races are one-day professional cycling road races in the international calendar. Most of the events, all run in western Europe, have been fixtures on the professional calendar for decades and the oldest ones date back to the 19th century. They are normally held at roughly the same time each year. In the last few years, the five most revered races are sometimes described as the 'Monuments'.
name of cyclist: won at least: times

Winners of classics in 1989

Milan-San Remo  Laurent Fignon FRA
Tour of Flanders  Edwig van Hooydonck BEL
Paris-Roubaix  Jean-Marie Wampers BEL
Liege-Bastogne-Liege  Sean Kelly IRL
Giro di Lombardia  Tony Rominger SUI
Gent-Wevelgem  Gerrit Solleveld NED
E3 Harelbeke  Eddy Planckaert BEL
Amstel Gold Race  Eric van Lancker BEL
La Fleche Walonne  Claude Criquielion BEL
Tre Valli Varesine  Gianni Bugno ITA
Coppa Ugo Agostoni  Dimitri Konyshev RUS
Coppa Bernochi  Rolf Sørensen DAN
Clássica de San Sebastián  Gerhard Zadrobilek AUT
Paris-Tours  Jelle Nijdam NED
Milano-Torino  Rolf Gölz GER
Giro del Piemonte  Claudio Chiappucci ITA

This page was elaborated by the authors of, based on various web pages