Classic cycle races
The classic cycle races are one-day professional cycling road races in the international calendar. Most of the events, all run in western Europe, have been fixtures on the professional calendar for decades and the oldest ones date back to the 19th century. They are normally held at roughly the same time each year. In the last few years, the five most revered races are sometimes described as the 'Monuments'.
name of cyclist: won at least: times

Winners of classics in 1988

Milan-San Remo  Laurent Fignon FRA
Tour of Flanders  Eddy Planckaert BEL
Paris-Roubaix  Dirk Demol BEL
Liege-Bastogne-Liege  Adri van der Poel NED
Giro di Lombardia  Charly Mottet FRA
Gent-Wevelgem  Sean Kelly IRL
E3 Harelbeke  Guido Bontempi ITA
Amstel Gold Race  Jelle Nijdam NED
La Fleche Walonne  Rolf Golz GER
Tre Valli Varesine  Giuseppe Saronni ITA
Coppa Ugo Agostoni  Gianni Bugno ITA
Coppa Bernochi  Guido Bontempi ITA
Clássica de San Sebastián  Gert-Jan Theunisse NED
Paris-Tours  Peter Pieters NED
Milano-Torino  Rolf Gölz GER
Giro del Piemonte  Rolf Gölz GER

This page was elaborated by the authors of, based on various web pages