Classic cycle races
The classic cycle races are one-day professional cycling road races in the international calendar. Most of the events, all run in western Europe, have been fixtures on the professional calendar for decades and the oldest ones date back to the 19th century. They are normally held at roughly the same time each year. In the last few years, the five most revered races are sometimes described as the 'Monuments'.
name of cyclist: won at least: times

Winners of classics in 1987

Milan-San Remo  Erich Maechler SUI
Tour of Flanders  Claude Criquielion BEL
Paris-Roubaix  Eric Vanderaerden BEL
Liege-Bastogne-Liege  Moreno Argentin ITA
Giro di Lombardia  Moreno Argentin ITA
Gent-Wevelgem  Teun van Vliet NED
E3 Harelbeke  Eddy Planckaert BEL
Amstel Gold Race  Joop Zoetemelk NED
La Fleche Walonne  Jean-Claude Leclercq FRA
Tre Valli Varesine  Franco Ballerini ITA
Coppa Ugo Agostoni  Bruno Leali ITA
Coppa Bernochi  Guido Bontempi ITA
Clássica de San Sebastián  Marino Lejarreta ESP
Paris-Tours  Adri van der Poel NED
Milano-Torino  Phil Anderson AUS
Giro del Piemonte  Adri van der Poel NED

This page was elaborated by the authors of, based on various web pages