Classic cycle races
The classic cycle races are one-day professional cycling road races in the international calendar. Most of the events, all run in western Europe, have been fixtures on the professional calendar for decades and the oldest ones date back to the 19th century. They are normally held at roughly the same time each year. In the last few years, the five most revered races are sometimes described as the 'Monuments'.
name of cyclist: won at least: times

Winners of classics in 1986

Milan-San Remo  Sean Kelly IRL
Tour of Flanders  Adri van der Poel NED
Paris-Roubaix  Sean Kelly IRL
Liege-Bastogne-Liege  Moreno Argentin ITA
Giro di Lombardia  Gianbattista BaronchelliITA
Gent-Wevelgem  Guido Bontempi ITA
E3 Harelbeke  Eric Vanderaerden BEL
Amstel Gold Race  Steven Rooks NED
La Fleche Walonne  Laurent Fignon FRA
Tre Valli Varesine  Guido Bontempi ITA
Coppa Ugo Agostoni  Marino Amadori ITA
Coppa Bernochi  Roberto Gaggioli ITA
Clássica de San Sebastián  Inaki Gaston ESP
Paris-Tours  Phil Anderson AUS
Giro del Piemonte  Gianni Bugno ITA

This page was elaborated by the authors of, based on various web pages