Classic cycle races
The classic cycle races are one-day professional cycling road races in the international calendar. Most of the events, all run in western Europe, have been fixtures on the professional calendar for decades and the oldest ones date back to the 19th century. They are normally held at roughly the same time each year. In the last few years, the five most revered races are sometimes described as the 'Monuments'.
name of cyclist: won at least: times

Winners of classics in 1985

Milan-San Remo  Hennie Kuiper NED
Tour of Flanders  Eric Vanderaerden BEL
Paris-Roubaix  Marc Madiot FRA
Liege-Bastogne-Liege  Moreno Argentin ITA
Giro di Lombardia  Sean Kelly IRL
Gent-Wevelgem  Eric Vanderaerden BEL
E3 Harelbeke  Phil Anderson AUS
Amstel Gold Race  Gerrie Knetemann NED
La Fleche Walonne  Claude Criquielion BEL
Tre Valli Varesine  Giovanni Mantovani ITA
Coppa Ugo Agostoni  Acacio Da Silva POR
Coppa Bernochi  Johan van der Velde NED
Clássica de San Sebastián  Adri van der Poel NED
Paris-Tours  Ludo Peeters BEL
Milano-Torino  Daniele Caroli ITA
Giro del Piemonte  Charly Mottet FRA

This page was elaborated by the authors of, based on various web pages