Classic cycle races
The classic cycle races are one-day professional cycling road races in the international calendar. Most of the events, all run in western Europe, have been fixtures on the professional calendar for decades and the oldest ones date back to the 19th century. They are normally held at roughly the same time each year. In the last few years, the five most revered races are sometimes described as the 'Monuments'.
name of cyclist: won at least: times

Winners of classics in 1984

Milan-San Remo  Francesco Moser ITA
Tour of Flanders  Johan Lammerts NED
Paris-Roubaix  Sean Kelly IRL
Liege-Bastogne-Liege  Sean Kelly IRL
Giro di Lombardia  Bernard Hinault FRA
Gent-Wevelgem  Guido Bontempi ITA
E3 Harelbeke  Bert Oosterbosch NED
Amstel Gold Race  Jacques Hanegraaf NED
La Fleche Walonne  Kim Andersen DAN
Tre Valli Varesine  Pierino Gavazzi ITA
Coppa Ugo Agostoni  Franco Chioccioli ITA
Coppa Bernochi  Vittorio Algeri ITA
Clássica de San Sebastián  Niki Rüttimann SUI
Paris-Tours  Sean Kelly IRL
Milano-Torino  Paolo Rosola ITA
Giro del Piemonte  Christian Jourdan FRA

This page was elaborated by the authors of, based on various web pages