Classic cycle races
The classic cycle races are one-day professional cycling road races in the international calendar. Most of the events, all run in western Europe, have been fixtures on the professional calendar for decades and the oldest ones date back to the 19th century. They are normally held at roughly the same time each year. In the last few years, the five most revered races are sometimes described as the 'Monuments'.
name of cyclist: won at least: times

Winners of classics in 1983

Milan-San Remo  Giuseppe Saronni ITA
Tour of Flanders  Jan Raas NED
Paris-Roubaix  Hennie Kuiper NED
Liege-Bastogne-Liege  Steven Rooks NED
Giro di Lombardia  Sean Kelly IRL
Gent-Wevelgem  Leo van Vliet NED
E3 Harelbeke  William Tackaert BEL
Amstel Gold Race  Phil Anderson AUS
La Fleche Walonne  Bernard Hinault FRA
Tre Valli Varesine  Alessandro Paganessi ITA
Coppa Ugo Agostoni  Alfons De Wolf BEL
Coppa Bernochi  Palmiro Masciarelli ITA
Clássica de San Sebastián  Claude Criquielion BEL
Paris-Tours  Ludo Peeters BEL
Milano-Torino  Francesco Moser ITA
Giro del Piemonte  Guido Bontempi ITA

This page was elaborated by the authors of, based on various web pages