Classic cycle races
The classic cycle races are one-day professional cycling road races in the international calendar. Most of the events, all run in western Europe, have been fixtures on the professional calendar for decades and the oldest ones date back to the 19th century. They are normally held at roughly the same time each year. In the last few years, the five most revered races are sometimes described as the 'Monuments'.
name of cyclist: won at least: times

Winners of classics in 1982

Milan-San Remo  Marc Gomez FRA
Tour of Flanders  René Martens BEL
Paris-Roubaix  Jan Raas NED
Liege-Bastogne-Liege  Silvano Contini ITA
Giro di Lombardia  Giuseppe Saronni ITA
Gent-Wevelgem  Frank Hoste BEL
E3 Harelbeke  Jan Bogaert BEL
Amstel Gold Race  Jan Raas NED
La Fleche Walonne  Mario Beccia ITA
Tre Valli Varesine  Pierino Gavazzi ITA
Coppa Ugo Agostoni  Giuseppe Saronni ITA
Coppa Bernochi  Silvano Contini ITA
Clássica de San Sebastián  Marino Lejarreta ESP
Paris-Tours  Jean-Luc Vandenbroucke BEL
Milano-Torino  Giuseppe Saronni ITA
Giro del Piemonte  Faustino Rupérez ESP

This page was elaborated by the authors of, based on various web pages