Classic cycle races
The classic cycle races are one-day professional cycling road races in the international calendar. Most of the events, all run in western Europe, have been fixtures on the professional calendar for decades and the oldest ones date back to the 19th century. They are normally held at roughly the same time each year. In the last few years, the five most revered races are sometimes described as the 'Monuments'.
name of cyclist: won at least: times

Winners of classics in 1981

Milan-San Remo  Alfons De Wolf BEL
Tour of Flanders  Hennie Kuiper NED
Paris-Roubaix  Bernard Hinault FRA
Liege-Bastogne-Liege  Josef Fuchs SUI
Giro di Lombardia  Hennie Kuiper NED
Gent-Wevelgem  Jan Raas NED
E3 Harelbeke  Jan Raas NED
Amstel Gold Race  Bernard Hinault FRA
La Fleche Walonne  Daniel Willems BEL
Tre Valli Varesine  Gregor Braun GER
Coppa Ugo Agostoni  Francesco Moser ITA
Coppa Bernochi  Giuseppe Saronni ITA
Clássica de San Sebastián  Marino Lejarreta ESP
Paris-Tours  Jan Raas NED
Milano-Torino  Giuseppe Martinelli ITA
Giro del Piemonte  Marino Amadori ITA

This page was elaborated by the authors of, based on various web pages