Classic cycle races
The classic cycle races are one-day professional cycling road races in the international calendar. Most of the events, all run in western Europe, have been fixtures on the professional calendar for decades and the oldest ones date back to the 19th century. They are normally held at roughly the same time each year. In the last few years, the five most revered races are sometimes described as the 'Monuments'.
name of cyclist: won at least: times

Winners of classics in 1980

Milan-San Remo  Pierino Gavazzi ITA
Tour of Flanders  Michel Pollentier BEL
Paris-Roubaix  Francesco Moser ITA
Liege-Bastogne-Liege  Bernard Hinault FRA
Giro di Lombardia  Fons De Wolf BEL
Gent-Wevelgem  Henk Lubberding NED
E3 Harelbeke  Jan Raas NED
Amstel Gold Race  Jan Raas NED
La Fleche Walonne  Giuseppe Saronni ITA
Tre Valli Varesine  Giuseppe Saronni ITA
Coppa Ugo Agostoni  Cees Priem NED
Coppa Bernochi  Giuseppe Saronni ITA
Clássica de San Sebastián  
Paris-Tours  Daniel Willems BEL
Milano-Torino  Giovanni Battaglin ITA
Giro del Piemonte  Gianbattista BaronchelliITA

This page was elaborated by the authors of, based on various web pages