Classic cycle races
The classic cycle races are one-day professional cycling road races in the international calendar. Most of the events, all run in western Europe, have been fixtures on the professional calendar for decades and the oldest ones date back to the 19th century. They are normally held at roughly the same time each year. In the last few years, the five most revered races are sometimes described as the 'Monuments'.
name of cyclist: won at least: times

Winners of classics in 1979

Milan-San Remo  Roger De Vlaeminck BEL
Tour of Flanders  Jan Raas NED
Paris-Roubaix  Francesco Moser ITA
Liege-Bastogne-Liege  Dietrich Thurau GER
Giro di Lombardia  Bernard Hinault FRA
Gent-Wevelgem  Francesco Moser ITA
E3 Harelbeke  Jan Raas NED
Amstel Gold Race  Jan Raas NED
La Fleche Walonne  Bernard Hinault FRA
Tre Valli Varesine  Giuseppe Saronni ITA
Coppa Ugo Agostoni  Giovanni Battaglin ITA
Coppa Bernochi  Valerio Lualdi ITA
Clássica de San Sebastián  
Paris-Tours  Joop Zoetemelk NED
Milano-Torino  Alfio Vandi ITA
Giro del Piemonte  Silvano Contini ITA

This page was elaborated by the authors of, based on various web pages