Classic cycle races
The classic cycle races are one-day professional cycling road races in the international calendar. Most of the events, all run in western Europe, have been fixtures on the professional calendar for decades and the oldest ones date back to the 19th century. They are normally held at roughly the same time each year. In the last few years, the five most revered races are sometimes described as the 'Monuments'.
name of cyclist: won at least: times

Winners of classics in 1978

Milan-San Remo  Roger De Vlaeminck BEL
Tour of Flanders  Walter Godefroot BEL
Paris-Roubaix  Francesco Moser ITA
Liege-Bastogne-Liege  Joseph Bruyère BEL
Giro di Lombardia  Francesco Moser ITA
Gent-Wevelgem  Ferdi Van Den Haute BEL
E3 Harelbeke  Freddy Maertens BEL
Amstel Gold Race  Jan Raas NED
La Fleche Walonne  Michel Laurent FRA
Tre Valli Varesine  Francesco Moser ITA
Coppa Ugo Agostoni  Giuseppe Saronni ITA
Coppa Bernochi  Giovanni Battaglin ITA
Clássica de San Sebastián  
Paris-Tours  Jan Raas NED
Milano-Torino  Pierino Gavazzi ITA
Giro del Piemonte  Gianbattista BaronchelliITA

This page was elaborated by the authors of, based on various web pages