Classic cycle races
The classic cycle races are one-day professional cycling road races in the international calendar. Most of the events, all run in western Europe, have been fixtures on the professional calendar for decades and the oldest ones date back to the 19th century. They are normally held at roughly the same time each year. In the last few years, the five most revered races are sometimes described as the 'Monuments'.
name of cyclist: won at least: times

Winners of classics in 1976

Milan-San Remo  Eddy Merckx BEL
Tour of Flanders  Walter Planckaert BEL
Paris-Roubaix  Marc Demeyer BEL
Liege-Bastogne-Liege  Joseph Bruyère BEL
Giro di Lombardia  Roger De Vlaeminck BEL
Gent-Wevelgem  Freddy Maertens BEL
E3 Harelbeke  Walter Planckaert BEL
Amstel Gold Race  Freddy Maertens BEL
La Fleche Walonne  Joop Zoetemelk NED
Tre Valli Varesine  Francesco Moser ITA
Coppa Ugo Agostoni  Roger De Vlaeminck BEL
Coppa Bernochi  Franco Bitossi ITA
Clássica de San Sebastián  
Paris-Tours  Ronald Dewitte BEL
Milano-Torino  Enrico Paolini ITA
Giro del Piemonte  

This page was elaborated by the authors of, based on various web pages