Classic cycle races
The classic cycle races are one-day professional cycling road races in the international calendar. Most of the events, all run in western Europe, have been fixtures on the professional calendar for decades and the oldest ones date back to the 19th century. They are normally held at roughly the same time each year. In the last few years, the five most revered races are sometimes described as the 'Monuments'.
name of cyclist: won at least: times

Winners of classics in 1973

Milan-San Remo  Roger De Vlaeminck BEL
Tour of Flanders  Eric Leman BEL
Paris-Roubaix  Eddy Merckx BEL
Liege-Bastogne-Liege  Eddy Merckx BEL
Giro di Lombardia  Felice Gimondi ITA
Gent-Wevelgem  Eddy Merckx BEL
E3 Harelbeke  Willy In't Ven BEL
Amstel Gold Race  Eddy Merckx BEL
La Fleche Walonne  Andre Dierickx BEL
Tre Valli Varesine  Enrico Paolini ITA
Coppa Ugo Agostoni  Arnaldo Caverzasi ITA
Coppa Bernochi  Felice Gimondi ITA
Clássica de San Sebastián  
Paris-Tours  Rik van Linden BEL
Milano-Torino  Marcello Bergamo ITA
Giro del Piemonte  Felice Gimondi ITA

This page was elaborated by the authors of, based on various web pages