Classic cycle races
The classic cycle races are one-day professional cycling road races in the international calendar. Most of the events, all run in western Europe, have been fixtures on the professional calendar for decades and the oldest ones date back to the 19th century. They are normally held at roughly the same time each year. In the last few years, the five most revered races are sometimes described as the 'Monuments'.
name of cyclist: won at least: times

Winners of classics in 1971

Milan-San Remo  Eddy Merckx BEL
Tour of Flanders  Evert Dolman NED
Paris-Roubaix  Roger Rosiers BEL
Liege-Bastogne-Liege  Eddy Merckx BEL
Giro di Lombardia  Eddy Merckx BEL
Gent-Wevelgem  Georges Pintens BEL
E3 Harelbeke  Roger De Vlaeminck BEL
Amstel Gold Race  Frans Verbeeck BEL
La Fleche Walonne  Roger De Vlaeminck BEL
Tre Valli Varesine  Giancarlo Polidori ITA
Coppa Ugo Agostoni  Franco Bitossi ITA
Coppa Bernochi  Virginio Levati ITA
Clássica de San Sebastián  
Paris-Tours  Rik van Linden BEL
Milano-Torino  Georges Pintens BEL
Giro del Piemonte  Felice Gimondi ITA

This page was elaborated by the authors of, based on various web pages