Classic cycle races
The classic cycle races are one-day professional cycling road races in the international calendar. Most of the events, all run in western Europe, have been fixtures on the professional calendar for decades and the oldest ones date back to the 19th century. They are normally held at roughly the same time each year. In the last few years, the five most revered races are sometimes described as the 'Monuments'.
name of cyclist: won at least: times

Winners of classics in 1970

Milan-San Remo  Michele Dancelli ITA
Tour of Flanders  Eric Leman BEL
Paris-Roubaix  Eddy Merckx BEL
Liege-Bastogne-Liege  Roger De Vlaeminck BEL
Giro di Lombardia  Franco Bitossi ITA
Gent-Wevelgem  Eddy Merckx BEL
E3 Harelbeke  Daniel Van Ryckeghem BEL
Amstel Gold Race  Georges Pintens BEL
La Fleche Walonne  Eddy Merckx BEL
Tre Valli Varesine  Gianni Motta ITA
Coppa Ugo Agostoni  Eddy Merckx BEL
Coppa Bernochi  Pietro Guerra ITA
Clássica de San Sebastián  
Paris-Tours  Jürgen Tschan GER
Milano-Torino  Luciano Armani ITA
Giro del Piemonte  Italo Zilioli ITA

This page was elaborated by the authors of, based on various web pages