Classic cycle races
The classic cycle races are one-day professional cycling road races in the international calendar. Most of the events, all run in western Europe, have been fixtures on the professional calendar for decades and the oldest ones date back to the 19th century. They are normally held at roughly the same time each year. In the last few years, the five most revered races are sometimes described as the 'Monuments'.
name of cyclist: won at least: times

Winners of classics in 1966

Milan-San Remo  Eddy Merckx BEL
Tour of Flanders  Edward Sels BEL
Paris-Roubaix  Felice Gimondi ITA
Liege-Bastogne-Liege  Jacques Anquetil FRA
Giro di Lombardia  Felice Gimondi ITA
Gent-Wevelgem  Herman Van Springel BEL
E3 Harelbeke  Rik Van Looy BEL
Amstel Gold Race  Jean Stablinski FRA
La Fleche Walonne  Michele Dancelli ITA
Tre Valli Varesine  Gianni Motta ITA
Coppa Ugo Agostoni  Felice Gimondi ITA
Coppa Bernochi  Raffaele Marcoli ITA
Clássica de San Sebastián  
Paris-Tours  Guido ReybroeckBEL
Milano-Torino  Marino Vigna ITA
Giro del Piemonte  Rudi Altig GER

This page was elaborated by the authors of, based on various web pages