Classic cycle races
The classic cycle races are one-day professional cycling road races in the international calendar. Most of the events, all run in western Europe, have been fixtures on the professional calendar for decades and the oldest ones date back to the 19th century. They are normally held at roughly the same time each year. In the last few years, the five most revered races are sometimes described as the 'Monuments'.
name of cyclist: won at least: times

Winners of classics in 1965

Milan-San Remo  Arie den Hartog NED
Tour of Flanders  Jo De Roo NED
Paris-Roubaix  Rik van Looy BEL
Liege-Bastogne-Liege  Carmine Preziosi ITA
Giro di Lombardia  Tom Simpson GBR
Gent-Wevelgem  Noel De Pauw BEL
E3 Harelbeke  Rik Van Looy BEL
Amstel Gold Race  
La Fleche Walonne  Roberto Poggiali ITA
Tre Valli Varesine  Gianni Motta ITA
Coppa Ugo Agostoni  Tommaso De Pra ITA
Coppa Bernochi  Adriano Durante ITA
Clássica de San Sebastián  
Paris-Tours  Gerben Karstens NED
Milano-Torino  Vito Taccone ITA
Giro del Piemonte  Romeo Venturelli ITA

This page was elaborated by the authors of, based on various web pages