Classic cycle races
The classic cycle races are one-day professional cycling road races in the international calendar. Most of the events, all run in western Europe, have been fixtures on the professional calendar for decades and the oldest ones date back to the 19th century. They are normally held at roughly the same time each year. In the last few years, the five most revered races are sometimes described as the 'Monuments'.
name of cyclist: won at least: times

Winners of classics in 1964

Milan-San Remo  Tom Simpson GBR
Tour of Flanders  Rudi Altig GER
Paris-Roubaix  Peter Post NED
Liege-Bastogne-Liege  Willy Bocklant BEL
Giro di Lombardia  Gianni Motta ITA
Gent-Wevelgem  Jacques Anquetil FRA
E3 Harelbeke  Rik Van Looy BEL
Amstel Gold Race  
La Fleche Walonne  Gilbert Desmet BEL
Tre Valli Varesine  Marino Vigna ITA
Coppa Ugo Agostoni  Italo Zilioli ITA
Coppa Bernochi  Gianni Motta ITA
Clássica de San Sebastián  
Paris-Tours  Guido ReybroeckBEL
Milano-Torino  Valentin Uriona ESP
Giro del Piemonte  Willy Bocklant BEL

This page was elaborated by the authors of, based on various web pages