Classic cycle races
The classic cycle races are one-day professional cycling road races in the international calendar. Most of the events, all run in western Europe, have been fixtures on the professional calendar for decades and the oldest ones date back to the 19th century. They are normally held at roughly the same time each year. In the last few years, the five most revered races are sometimes described as the 'Monuments'.
name of cyclist: won at least: times

Winners of classics in 1962

Milan-San Remo  Emile Daems BEL
Tour of Flanders  Rik van Looy BEL
Paris-Roubaix  Rik van Looy BEL
Liege-Bastogne-Liege  Jef Planckaert BEL
Giro di Lombardia  Jo de Roo NED
Gent-Wevelgem  Rik Van Looy BEL
E3 Harelbeke  André Messelis BEL
Amstel Gold Race  
La Fleche Walonne  Henri Dewolf BEL
Tre Valli Varesine  Giuseppe Ferrardi ITA
Coppa Ugo Agostoni  
Coppa Bernochi  Pierino Baffi ITA
Clássica de San Sebastián  
Paris-Tours  Jo de Roo NED
Milano-Torino  Franco Balmamion ITA
Giro del Piemonte  Vito Taccone ITA

This page was elaborated by the authors of, based on various web pages