Classic cycle races
The classic cycle races are one-day professional cycling road races in the international calendar. Most of the events, all run in western Europe, have been fixtures on the professional calendar for decades and the oldest ones date back to the 19th century. They are normally held at roughly the same time each year. In the last few years, the five most revered races are sometimes described as the 'Monuments'.
name of cyclist: won at least: times

Winners of classics in 1961

Milan-San Remo  Raymond Poulidor FRA
Tour of Flanders  Tom Simpson GBR
Paris-Roubaix  Rik van Looy BEL
Liege-Bastogne-Liege  Rik Van Looy BEL
Giro di Lombardia  Vito Taccone ITA
Gent-Wevelgem  Frans Aerenhouts BEL
E3 Harelbeke  Arthur De Cabooter BEL
Amstel Gold Race  
La Fleche Walonne  Willy Vannitsen BEL
Tre Valli Varesine  Willy Vannitsen BEL
Coppa Ugo Agostoni  Giovanni Bettinelli ITA
Coppa Bernochi  Arturo Sabbadin ITA
Clássica de San Sebastián  
Paris-Tours  Jos Wouters BEL
Milano-Torino  Walter Martin ITA
Giro del Piemonte  Angelo Conterno ITA

This page was elaborated by the authors of, based on various web pages