Classic cycle races
The classic cycle races are one-day professional cycling road races in the international calendar. Most of the events, all run in western Europe, have been fixtures on the professional calendar for decades and the oldest ones date back to the 19th century. They are normally held at roughly the same time each year. In the last few years, the five most revered races are sometimes described as the 'Monuments'.
name of cyclist: won at least: times

Winners of classics in 1959

Milan-San Remo  Miguel Poblet ESP
Tour of Flanders  Rik van Looy BEL
Paris-Roubaix  Noël Foré BEL
Liege-Bastogne-Liege  Fred De Bruyne BEL
Giro di Lombardia  Rik Van Looy BEL
Gent-Wevelgem  Léon Van Daele BEL
E3 Harelbeke  Norbert Kerckhove BEL
Amstel Gold Race  
La Fleche Walonne  Jos Hoevenaars BEL
Tre Valli Varesine  Dino Bruni ITA
Coppa Ugo Agostoni  Michele Gismondi ITA
Coppa Bernochi  Noè Conti ITA
Clássica de San Sebastián  
Paris-Tours  Rik Van Looy BEL
Milano-Torino  Nello Fabbri ITA
Giro del Piemonte  Silvano Ciampi ITA

This page was elaborated by the authors of, based on various web pages