Classic cycle races
The classic cycle races are one-day professional cycling road races in the international calendar. Most of the events, all run in western Europe, have been fixtures on the professional calendar for decades and the oldest ones date back to the 19th century. They are normally held at roughly the same time each year. In the last few years, the five most revered races are sometimes described as the 'Monuments'.
name of cyclist: won at least: times

Winners of classics in 1958

Milan-San Remo  Rik van Looy BEL
Tour of Flanders  Germain Derijcke BEL
Paris-Roubaix  Leon Vandaele BEL
Liege-Bastogne-Liege  Fred De Bruyne BEL
Giro di Lombardia  Nino Defilippis ITA
Gent-Wevelgem  Noel Fore BEL
E3 Harelbeke  Armand Desmet BEL
Amstel Gold Race  
La Fleche Walonne  Rik Van Steenbergen BEL
Tre Valli Varesine  Carlo Nicolo ITA
Coppa Ugo Agostoni  Giacobbe Boggian ITA
Coppa Bernochi  Rik van Looy BEL
Clássica de San Sebastián  
Paris-Tours  Gilbert Desmet BEL
Milano-Torino  Agostino Coletto ITA
Giro del Piemonte  Nino Defilippis ITA

This page was elaborated by the authors of, based on various web pages