Classic cycle races
The classic cycle races are one-day professional cycling road races in the international calendar. Most of the events, all run in western Europe, have been fixtures on the professional calendar for decades and the oldest ones date back to the 19th century. They are normally held at roughly the same time each year. In the last few years, the five most revered races are sometimes described as the 'Monuments'.
name of cyclist: won at least: times

Winners of classics in 1957

Milan-San Remo  Miguel Poblet ESP
Tour of Flanders  Fred De Bruyne BEL
Paris-Roubaix  Fred De Bruyne BEL
Liege-Bastogne-Liege  Frans Schoubben BEL
Giro di Lombardia  Diego Ronchini ITA
Gent-Wevelgem  Rik Van Looy BEL
E3 Harelbeke  
Amstel Gold Race  
La Fleche Walonne  Raymond Impanis BEL
Tre Valli Varesine  Germain Derijcke BEL
Coppa Ugo Agostoni  Carlo Zorzoli ITA
Coppa Bernochi  Rik van Looy BEL
Clássica de San Sebastián  
Paris-Tours  Fred De Bruyne BEL
Milano-Torino  Miguel Poblet ESP
Giro del Piemonte  Silvano Ciampi ITA

This page was elaborated by the authors of, based on various web pages