Classic cycle races
The classic cycle races are one-day professional cycling road races in the international calendar. Most of the events, all run in western Europe, have been fixtures on the professional calendar for decades and the oldest ones date back to the 19th century. They are normally held at roughly the same time each year. In the last few years, the five most revered races are sometimes described as the 'Monuments'.
name of cyclist: won at least: times

Winners of classics in 1956

Milan-San Remo  Fred De Bruyne BEL
Tour of Flanders  Jean Forestier FRA
Paris-Roubaix  Louison Bobet FRA
Liege-Bastogne-Liege  Fred De Bruyne BEL
Giro di Lombardia  André Darrigade FRA
Gent-Wevelgem  Rik Van Looy BEL
E3 Harelbeke  
Amstel Gold Race  
La Fleche Walonne  Richard van Genechten BEL
Tre Valli Varesine  Gastone Nencini ITA
Coppa Ugo Agostoni  Silvano Tessari ITA
Coppa Bernochi  Vasco Modena ITA
Clássica de San Sebastián  
Paris-Tours  Albert Bouvet FRA
Milano-Torino  Ferdi Kübler SUI
Giro del Piemonte  Fiorenzo Magni ITA

This page was elaborated by the authors of, based on various web pages