Classic cycle races
The classic cycle races are one-day professional cycling road races in the international calendar. Most of the events, all run in western Europe, have been fixtures on the professional calendar for decades and the oldest ones date back to the 19th century. They are normally held at roughly the same time each year. In the last few years, the five most revered races are sometimes described as the 'Monuments'.
name of cyclist: won at least: times

Winners of classics in 1955

Milan-San Remo  Germain Derijcke BEL
Tour of Flanders  Louison Bobet FRA
Paris-Roubaix  Jean Forestier FRA
Liege-Bastogne-Liege  Stan Ockers BEL
Giro di Lombardia  Cleto Maule ITA
Gent-Wevelgem  Briek Schotte BEL
E3 Harelbeke  
Amstel Gold Race  
La Fleche Walonne  Stan Ockers BEL
Tre Valli Varesine  Fausto Coppi ITA
Coppa Ugo Agostoni  Lino Pizzoferrato ITA
Coppa Bernochi  Renato Ponzini ITA
Clássica de San Sebastián  
Paris-Tours  Jacques Dupont FRA
Milano-Torino  Cleto Maule ITA
Giro del Piemonte  Giuseppe Minardi ITA

This page was elaborated by the authors of, based on various web pages