Classic cycle races
The classic cycle races are one-day professional cycling road races in the international calendar. Most of the events, all run in western Europe, have been fixtures on the professional calendar for decades and the oldest ones date back to the 19th century. They are normally held at roughly the same time each year. In the last few years, the five most revered races are sometimes described as the 'Monuments'.
name of cyclist: won at least: times

Winners of classics in 1953

Milan-San Remo  Loretto Petrucci ITA
Tour of Flanders  Wim van Est NED
Paris-Roubaix  Germain Derijcke BEL
Liege-Bastogne-Liege  Alois De Hertog BEL
Giro di Lombardia  Bruno Landi ITA
Gent-Wevelgem  Raymond Impanis BEL
E3 Harelbeke  
Amstel Gold Race  
La Fleche Walonne  Stan Ockers BEL
Tre Valli Varesine  Nino Defilippis ITA
Coppa Ugo Agostoni  Andrea Barro ITA
Coppa Bernochi  Giorgio Albani ITA
Clássica de San Sebastián  
Paris-Tours  Jos Schils BEL
Milano-Torino  Luciano Maggini ITA
Giro del Piemonte  Fiorenzo Magni ITA

This page was elaborated by the authors of, based on various web pages