Classic cycle races
The classic cycle races are one-day professional cycling road races in the international calendar. Most of the events, all run in western Europe, have been fixtures on the professional calendar for decades and the oldest ones date back to the 19th century. They are normally held at roughly the same time each year. In the last few years, the five most revered races are sometimes described as the 'Monuments'.
name of cyclist: won at least: times

Winners of classics in 1949

Milan-San Remo  Fausto Coppi ITA
Tour of Flanders  Fiorenzo Magni ITA
Paris-Roubaix  André Mahé FRA
Liege-Bastogne-Liege  Camille Danguillaume FRA
Giro di Lombardia  Fausto Coppi ITA
Gent-Wevelgem  Marcel Kint BEL
E3 Harelbeke  
Amstel Gold Race  
La Fleche Walonne  Rik Van Steenbergen BEL
Tre Valli Varesine  Nedo Logli ITA
Coppa Ugo Agostoni  Antonio Ausenda ITA
Coppa Bernochi  Mario Ricci ITA
Clássica de San Sebastián  
Paris-Tours  Albrecht Ramon BEL
Milano-Torino  Luigi Casola ITA
Giro del Piemonte  Adolfo Leoni ITA

This page was elaborated by the authors of, based on various web pages