Classic cycle races
The classic cycle races are one-day professional cycling road races in the international calendar. Most of the events, all run in western Europe, have been fixtures on the professional calendar for decades and the oldest ones date back to the 19th century. They are normally held at roughly the same time each year. In the last few years, the five most revered races are sometimes described as the 'Monuments'.
name of cyclist: won at least: times

Winners of classics in 1946

Milan-San Remo  Fausto Coppi ITA
Tour of Flanders  Rik Van Steenbergen BEL
Paris-Roubaix  Georges Claes BEL
Liege-Bastogne-Liege  Prosper Depredomme BEL
Giro di Lombardia  Fausto Coppi ITA
Gent-Wevelgem  Ernest Sterckx BEL
E3 Harelbeke  
Amstel Gold Race  
La Fleche Walonne  Desire Keteleer BEL
Tre Valli Varesine  Enrico Mollo ITA
Coppa Ugo Agostoni  Luigi Casola ITA
Coppa Bernochi  Osvaldo Bailo ITA
Clássica de San Sebastián  
Paris-Tours  Alberic Schotte BEL
Milano-Torino  Vito Ortelli ITA
Giro del Piemonte  Sergio Maggini ITA

This page was elaborated by the authors of, based on various web pages