Classic cycle races
The classic cycle races are one-day professional cycling road races in the international calendar. Most of the events, all run in western Europe, have been fixtures on the professional calendar for decades and the oldest ones date back to the 19th century. They are normally held at roughly the same time each year. In the last few years, the five most revered races are sometimes described as the 'Monuments'.
name of cyclist: won at least: times

Winners of classics in 1942

Milan-San Remo  Adolfo Leoni ITA
Tour of Flanders  Briek Schotte BEL
Giro di Lombardia  Aldo Bini ITA
E3 Harelbeke  
Amstel Gold Race  
La Fleche Walonne  Karel Thijs BEL
Tre Valli Varesine  Luciano Succi ITA
Coppa Ugo Agostoni  
Coppa Bernochi  Glauco Servadei ITA
Clássica de San Sebastián  
Paris-Tours  Paul Maye FRA
Milano-Torino  Pietro Chiappini ITA
Giro del Piemonte  Fiorenzo Magni ITA

This page was elaborated by the authors of, based on various web pages