Classic cycle races
The classic cycle races are one-day professional cycling road races in the international calendar. Most of the events, all run in western Europe, have been fixtures on the professional calendar for decades and the oldest ones date back to the 19th century. They are normally held at roughly the same time each year. In the last few years, the five most revered races are sometimes described as the 'Monuments'.
name of cyclist: won at least: times

Winners of classics in 1938

Milan-San Remo  Giuseppe Olmo ITA
Tour of Flanders  Edgard de Caluwé BEL
Paris-Roubaix  Lucien Storme BEL
Liege-Bastogne-Liege  Alfons Deloor BEL
Giro di Lombardia  Cino Cinelli ITA
Gent-Wevelgem  Hubert Godart BEL
E3 Harelbeke  
Amstel Gold Race  
La Fleche Walonne  Émile Masson Jr. BEL
Tre Valli Varesine  Gino Bartali ITA
Coppa Ugo Agostoni  
Coppa Bernochi  Cino Cinelli ITA
Clássica de San Sebastián  
Paris-Tours  Jules Rossi ITA
Milano-Torino  Pierino Favalli ITA
Giro del Piemonte  Pietro Rimoldi ITA

This page was elaborated by the authors of, based on various web pages